comments 22

Do not use a rolling pin on a pinata but do watch Trigger Happy TV

pinataI’ve had a busy weekend!  On Saturday Lovely Daughter #2 had a party.  She had three friends round and they made chocolate truffles.  Most recipes on the net seemed to agree on equal amounts of double cream and dark chocolate, plus a quarter amount lump of butter (I don’t think the last amount is too crucial as I didn’t bother measuring it out).    You can add flavourings too, but I cheated by using flavoured chocolate.  Refrigerate for 4 hours and then let children loose on it.

Then they went and bounced on the trampoline, after which they watched a DVD.

It’s always difficult choosing a DVD for a party, because somebody in the group will always have watched it before…. unless you go for something really really old!  I was delighted to find a couple of years ago that my out of the blue Christmas stocking idea of a Trigger Happy DVD went down a treat.

For those of you who didn’t ever see it, it was a sort of surreal Candid Camera thing, with people in animal suits, unexpectedly fighting characters, and the great Dom Joly in a series of deadpan roles.  The shame about it was it was so good that Dom Joly became instantly recognisable (even in disguise), which limited the number of series to three.  Even by series 3, the number of Dom Joly stunts, which were so characteristically good natured and surreal, had started to be very limited.

Here is a choice selection:

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/trigger-happy-tv/videos/series-1

After pizza and cake we had the pinata, and this was an interesting moment.  I guess I should have bought a pinata basher, because I gave no thought to the rolling pin helpfully chosen by LD #2 other than that it was the right shape.  The reviews indicated that it should last 15 good minutes.  The girls, being clever, well organised girls, decided that they should have two bashes each in turn so they all got a go. Well it just about lasted two bashes each before it burst.

On Sunday, I spent a gorgeous afternoon in, er, Croydon.  Well, my friend James, his wife and very cute baby had travelled all the way over from Singapore and I and a couple of other friends met up with them for a walk around the park.

http://www.cushtie.com/diet-croydon-and-croydon/

Catching up was good.  Also discovering that you can buy disco ball look a like fabric and that Singapore has a lot of made to measure tailors.  The imaginative possibilities are endless.

Since I was trapped on a train there and back, I decided it would be a good time to start to tackle Proust’s In Search of Lost Time.  I would take the time to savour it slowly, and experiment with the experience of reading thoroughly for a change, not skimming.

That, and I had run out of any non-Kindle reading material to pack.

It’s going to be a long experience.  I’ve just finished Chapter 1, in which the author has difficulty going to sleep.  I do sort of get that this is a long, tortured drawn out experience for him, and the chapter does build to an emotional climax.   However, part of me is still struggling to stop wanting to tell the author to get a grip, which I guess is what reading with an open mind is all about.  Something I am going to be learning over the next few chapters, I think.

As I’d (unusually) spent Saturday morning on the till in our village shop and Sunday morning playing the organ, I was pretty knackered by the time I got home.  (No difficulty getting to sleep for me.  Maybe this is why I lack sympathy.) But the good thing about a children’s party is there is lots of cola left over.  Now, rum and coke, is so basic a cocktail I didn’t even realise it was a cocktail until I saw it on several blog sites.  It’s mentioned in Pulp’s Disco 2000, which also refers to woodchip wallpaper!  But it was the only thing I had the ingredients for in a cola based cocktail, and very welcome it was too at the end of an enjoyable long weekend.

22 Comments

  1. I haven’t read In Search of Lost Time and to be honest it sounds like hard work. Every mum deserves a treat after hosting a childrens party glad to hear you took a time out for you.

    • I’ve read that you have to get to about book 3 for it to start paying off! That’s hard work. Occasionally I get these resolutions to better myself. Time will tell how long it will last…

  2. Oh Lordy – I used to work in Croydon – I think In Search of Lost Time is extremely fitting.
    My favourite Dom Joly moment is the guy dressed as a giant snail, crossing the road at a zebra crossing and holding up a line of traffic – priceless.

    • I was just saying to another person on this page I was born in Croydon! It’s a weird place, not particularly glamorous or inspiring. I suppose it gives you a good thing to compare life with ie everything looks better afterwards.

  3. Oh and Croydon isn’t far from me I’m glad you enjoyed it. Seems quite peculiar seeing the words Croydon and enjoyed in the same sentence.

    • I was born in Croydon and lived there till I was nine. Weird how many people have on this page have associations with the place.

      Apart from the friends, no burning desire to go back!

      • I think it’s interesting how people have associations with places that we may write about. It made your post a little more visual because of the familiarity with Croydon. I’m a Surrey gal not far from Kingston but was born in Sutton. I think I’ll always remain a South londoner.

  4. I got a chuckle out of your pinata experience Denise. My Granddaughter is half Hispanic so this is a big part of her culture,they usually have one twice a year for her. They use the plastic baseball bats and still manage to whack each other with those. You are probably lucky nobody got smacked with that rolling pin :) Its no secrete I quit drinking about 30 years ago but that is because I abused it anyway when I did drink rum and coke was a popular drink. I never could stomach any kind of soda with my booze it used to give me a gut ache. It sounds like all in all you have a very enjoyable weekend.

    • I’m sure the plastic bats were all part of the fun. Shame the rum and coke didn’t agree with you. I think that was one of my first drinks at college, just like the character in Disco 2000.

  5. Denise. So much to comment on here! But the disco ball fabric has me just enthralled! Shopping for my daughter’s homecoming dress- all are glitzy and Gatsby-ish like that ball!

    And your wanting to tell Proust to get a grip made me laugh! You somehow charmingly pull piñatas, chocolate truffles and Rum and Cokes all together!! Love it!! Thank you!

    • Ooooh, new dress! What do you think your daughter is going to go for? Is she into the glitz? There’s less than 18 months left till mine goes to her prom now. Scary.

      • We found a very nice black skirted dress, lots of tulle and layers of petticoats. The bodice is white satin with “jewels” all over it, strapless. The skirt is short. Very smart. But, another girl has the same dress. So we are off again. :(

        This is a dance where all the kids who have gone off to college, come home to the High School. The Prom also is in the Spring and I’ve been told, the dresses are long. Fun!!!!

  6. Pinata is something my boys always ask for birthday parties, but I find an excuse not to, as I worry that they would be devastated if someone else actually broke it open!

    • I can well imagine, and when the pinata bursts is not something you can control at all. Even I was anxious about it!

      Do you find it a bit harder for you to plan parties around the boys’ needs?

      • Its difficult for the boys. M can’t cope with parties, but luckily his birthday is always in the October holidays so we make sure we are away and so he has treats. D likes parties, but has such a small circle it can be difficult to know what to do. I’m looking forward to when he is older and he can have a couple of friends that we take to the movies and for tea!

      • You’re right, older children parties are nicer because they are smaller and more intimate. I always found younger children parties an ordeal – politically, you *had* to invite all the kids in the class… Tbh LD #1 has never been into that kind of stuff. Now they are at secondary there is more space for her to be different, but being different is hard when it’s a small school.

  7. Mm rum and cokes are always welcomed.
    And funnily enough, I’ve never played with a piñata! Good planning ahead with the “everybody gets 2 strikes” thing :) Will have to keep that in mind if i ever decide to get a piñata for one of my events.

Leave a Reply

