comment 0

Offbeat Office

?????????????Am I the only person who feels shy about sharing their musical tastes? I have no trouble discussing the films, books and shows I like, but if anyone asks me I say that I like “weird” music. I think I describe my tastes in this way to pre-empt criticism.

More people came back to work today. On the plus side, I might have had company, but on the minus side, 30 different “vulnerable group” criteria to analyse for each of 27 different subjects had landed on my desk. Now I can see you falling asleep just reading about this but I had to work out how I was going to actually get through this task without falling asleep. So the question had to be asked:

“Does anyone mind if I listen to some weird music?”

And yes, the office was open to the prospect of some weird music, so I went to

http://zuluminati.com/

This is a not weird music at all, but lots of samples of good music.

My current favourites are:

Hibou’s Dunes EP

http://zuluminati.com/2013/08/10/i-finally-got-a-job/

which is very uplifting and catchy and best of all free and has been going round in my head for the last few days.

And I love love love Haim’s Falling.

http://zuluminati.com/2013/07/06/haim-falling/

It’s 80s breezy and makes me feel young and wonderful. Can’t wait for the album to come out in September.

Today’s album of the day when I nosed my way over to see what Zuluminati was up to was Washed Out’s Paracosm. Strangely, I’d been thinking about buying this for a couple of days. The samples sounded interesting and the CD cover is very beautiful and cool. But unfortunately, when I listened to it on the site some more, it turns out it was a bit weird even for me. Definitely much too weird for office music. My co-worker said, “Do they use this to send dolphins to sleep?” and I felt a bit the same.

So we had a selection of choicest post rock off my CloudPlayer instead. I may have been worried about being a bit safe and boring (https://listenwatchreadshare.wordpress.com/2013/08/01/mono-hymn-to-the-immortal-windmoloko-do-you-like-my-tight-sweater/)

for being a post rock fan but there are times when being safe makes you breathe a bit easier.  A bit of Mono (chopping the ends off the really long tracks), a couple of run throughs of Mogwai and even some light Moloko went down very well.  Some Haim singles from Soundcloud and Dunes.  And then I ran out of ideas.

Taste is a funny thing. We only had classical music in the house when I was a child and I didn’t get into pop until I was maybe thirteen or fourteen. And then on principle, rightly or wrongly, and maybe just because of the age I was at, I wasn’t going to allow myself to like mainstream music. Maybe that’s part of why I still feel defensive when I share my tastes, because I feel an outsider in knowing and appreciating what is “in”.

Maybe, somewhat late in life, all I need is to finally experience the equivalent of being a teenager and listening to tracks with a bunch of friends in someone’s bedroom, which is something I totally missed out on at the time.

So… off-beat office music, anyone?   It’s got to be not too intrusive, but not actually send anyone to sleep.  So what shall I try next?

Leave a Reply

