comments 16

Moving house to music

I’m moving house on Thursday.

We exchanged last Friday and this morning I took delivery of my boxes and bubble wrap, although when I went to put the first one together just now, I realised I didn’t have any parcel tape.  So now I have decided to write on my blog and then watch Series 4 of Game of Thrones instead.

Last night my village got together to wish me farewell.  We had a gathering in the village shop, and then I went to friend’s house for one last evening of dinner eating-wine drinking-card playing-staggering home up the road in the pitch black.  My friend has a thing called Grooveshark on her computer, where you can stream any song you want, and we all got a bit nostalgic, and I found out that I wasn’t the only person in the world who counted McAlmont and Butler as one of their favourite artists of 1995.

I wasn’t a huge fan of Britpop, but I liked some of the artists associated with it (Bernard Butler was the guitarist with Suede) very much.  One precursor band to Britpop which I’m almost sure no-one else has ever heard of is Denim.  I was a word nerd in the nineties and they had great lyrics.  The Osmonds has to be the only song in history to cover a range of subjects as diverse as Camberwick Green, The Osmonds, the Black Panthers, flared trousers, Jeremy Thorpe, chopper bikes and death by terrorism.  My favourite Denim song (in fact, my favourite song of my whole adolescence) however is the single Middle of the Road, which proudly asserts the right to eschew trendy music in favour of what you really like.

I’ve been writing a lot recently, and I’ve found lots of music to work to.  Funnily enough, it isn’t necessarily music that is peaceful, but music that fits my mood.  Talking of nostalgia, I recently wrote a whole section with Aimee Mann’s soundtrack from Magnolia stuck on repeat.  Julianne Moore is one of my favourite actresses.

https://soundcloud.com/hadeer-ahmed-ghareeb/aimee-mann-wise-up

I’m also really into Massive Attack’s Blue Lines album.  Mezzanine has been one of my favourite albums for ages, but it’s a bit harsh for everyday office listening.  Blue Lines is much more mellow.

Other recent album purchases include Lost in the Dream by The War on Drugs, which is really not as dad rock as the often-made comparisons with Springsteen and Fleetwood Mac would suggest.

Some relaxing music for the office

and something to get me out of bed in the morning, when I am contemplating another day of negotiating all my household tasks around a huge fridge in the middle of my kitchen (don’t ask), Sleater Kinney, a female punk rock trio from Portland, Oregon.

16 Comments

    • They are very excited and working out where they can get to on the train. And I am very excited too!

      • It will be lovely to be close to everything, able to visit places that before were a car ride away ….. I love being in a town.

  1. I’m totally out of touch with the music scene. What’s that about Julianne Moore? Does she sing too?

    • No don’t think she does, but she was brilliant in Magnolia. I listen to the soundtrack of the film just because I like Aimee Mann, but its atmosphere reminds me so much of the film.

  2. Hope all goes well with the move, Denise – how exciting. I have no idea about any of your music preferences – I’m more at home with the ‘Dad Rock’ stuff – it’s an age thing 😄

    • Our favourite CD in the office is still Best of Fleetwood Mac. I think it is magic how they appeal to everyone. Also Dire Straits. I guess it’s nice the way good musicianship is ageless.

  3. Congratulations, Denise! This is great news. I hope the move goes well and that you all settle into the new place very quickly.

  4. Hurray for everything coming together and the end being in sight! I hope the move goes off very smoothly indeed and that your daughters will find it extra lovely to be in town where everything is going on. Thank you for the music recommendations! I discovered Einaudi through you so am sure to find something to my taste here!

  5. Lovely to see you pop up Denise. You sound super chilled, even though you couldn’t pack up your moving boxes! How far have you got with it now? Wishing you a smooth and stress free move 🙂

      • OMG I am still here and I just spent all that time making a Manic Street Preachers playlist, under the guise that this would “help me pack”… I had totally forgotten what a worthy bleeding heart teenager I was.

      • You are so funny! Happy packing and moving lovely lady. Lets lunch in London once the dust had settled 🙂

  6. Hey Denise. I will use this post as a way to get in touch with your blogs again. I have been out of the blogging habit and I really do miss it. And I miss YOU! So I see you are finally indeed really moving!!!!!!! Wow. so much I have missed. I am glad for you. And how sweet all your neighbors were there to wish you such an affectionate goodbye. Good to read your point of view again. And will check in again. Want to know about your new home. Love, H

Leave a Reply

