comments 4

Five Photos, Five Stories Day 2

The story of the walk

Today after work I went to another school to have a governors-to-governor talk.  I’ve been doing a lot of voluntary work recently around getting local governors to communicate with each other, and I’ve found it really fun.  Talking and communicating is really important.

I had to get the bus from work to a point about a mile away from the school.  It was in a village I’d been to many times before, as my children used to swim two or three times a week there, but things look so different when you are walking from when you are in the car.  For instance, I’d never noticed the playing field and playground before.  I wish I’d known about it when the children were small, they always used to love a good playground.

It’s been amazing not having a car.  I’ve lost a couple of pounds, but more to the point, I’ve got much thinner.  I’ve dropped a whole dress size, which is a bit daunting as I will have to go out and buy another load of jeans.  This has been in conjunction with me doing the T25 workout by Shaun T – now that I have a bigger living room, I have the space for it.  The best things about T25 are 1) it’s only 25 minutes a day 2) there are eleven different routines, so your whole body gets a work out, on a rota, and it starts easy and gets harder 3) Shaun is always going on about being aware of your body and how it functions.  So now I find all this walking much easier, because I have worked out how to use my core muscles to help with the motion.

Most of all, after years of thinking being healthy was all about what I shouldn’t be allowing myself to eat, it’s all about what my body can do.  I’ve never been a physically confident person.  And now I am!

The rules of the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge are:

1) Post a photo each day for five consecutive days.
2) Attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction, non-fiction, poetry, or a short paragraph. It’s entirely up to the individual.
3) Nominate another blogger to carry on the challenge. Your nominee is free to accept or decline the invitation. This is fun, not a command performance!

I was nominated by Rachel.

4 Comments

  1. It’s odd, isn’t it, how liberating not having the convenience of one’s own transport can be. When I was ‘between’ cars I had to take the bus and enjoyed every minute. I always look forward to a train ride too. But in this day and age, I’m not ready to shed my little car completely. Far too useful for shopping and visiting elderly mother!

    • Yes, you have to live near shops for this to be an enjoyable lifestyle. And have a family of all quite small females, who don’t eat too much! Oh, and um, live three steps down from an off licence so you don’t need to lug a box of wine up the hill!

    • It’s really made me think about my surroundings and see things differently. So many memories and feelings came over me yesterday as I was walking.

Leave a Reply

