comments 3

Five Photos, Five Stories Day 3

I wish I had taken a before picture of my campanula, as it was all limp and wilted.  Now it is perky and the flowers are standing up again.

After I took my photo on Day 1, and did my watering, my whole patio made a miraculous recovery!

It was the first time I had ever used bokashi juice as a fertiliser.  Bokashi juice is the run off liquid when you make bokashi, or “urban compost”.  This is a picture of the bucket.

Product Details

You put all your food in, scoop in some bokashi bran to help it ferment (or I just use natural yoghurt!) an keep squashing it down until it is full.  Then you wait for fermentation and the juice that comes out of the tap thing at the bottom, and the growth in your garden.

I was thinking that today, I have become part of my story, as I would not have thought to do all this unless I had been spurred on by the thoughts of my garden, and what losing my garden and gaining more independence meant to me.

Weird.

The rules of the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge are:

1) Post a photo each day for five consecutive days.
2) Attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction, non-fiction, poetry, or a short paragraph. It’s entirely up to the individual.
3) Nominate another blogger to carry on the challenge. Your nominee is free to accept or decline the invitation. This is fun, not a command performance!

I was nominated by Rachel.

3 Comments

  1. What do you do with all the food scraps in the bokashi bin? I can remember looking into it and being put off by having to bury them in the garden all the time.

    • Ha ha that part is a work in progress! I have just looked at mine now and it still looks like crushed food. I have just got to that stage where it says dig into soil. I have heard that it will rot down quickly once there. So I am just about to give it a go!

  2. I’m interested in this, sounds such a good recycling opportunity. I suppose when you’ve extracted all the juice, the food bits can be put out for the council to collect? Ours picks up our food waste once a week.

Leave a Reply

