comments 7

Summer Exhibition at the Royal Academy

Today we went on our annual trip to the Summer Exhibition.

This year, the Royal Academy has gone digital and put pictures from the exhibition available to view online.

They are also allowing, and even encouraging, visitors to take photographs at the Summer Exhibition, so we made sure we were all ready with our cameras.  We had a lot of fun spotting the
pictures
that Jenny from charactersfromthekitchen posted on her blog.

I was really struck by these two paintings in the courtyard entrance.  I am not sure why, because they are so simple.  They are called Squint, and maybe it is the MC Escher like quality that appealed to me.

ladder                                       step

I was really thrilled to recognise this Ian McKeever, Portrait of a Woman

mceever

My favourite room was Room II.  It doesn’t come out so well in the photo, but this 3D Asylum, with wolves and unicorns, by Cathy de Monchaux attracted a lot of attention.

asylum

I thought this Trance Map by Trevor Sutton was funny.  In what way is it not a straight up rip off of Agnes Martin??  (Agnes Martin is on at the Tate Modern until October 15th 2015.  Her Mountain is #8 on the list of highest auction prices ever paid for a work by a female artists, so last month I went along to see what the fuss was all about.  At £8,500, I guess Sutton is a snip compared with Martin’s $4.5m.)

trancemap

In the far corner of Room II, this little corner was also attracting attention.  There’s a picture of Damian Hirst by Harry Hill, and one of Grayson Perry by Una Stubbs.  I was primarily taken by the picture of biscuits at the bottom.  I could also have done without Simon Cowell grinning down at me, but there you go.

corner

We loved this huge shiny acrylic piece.  I wondered if there was any way LD#2 could make one when she does GCSE Art next year.

acrylic

I always enjoy the architecture room at the Summer Exhibition.  I like the blend between sculpture, installation and architecture, and also the feeling of “How the hell is that architecture… oh, I see.”  This sketch is something to do with Beijing airport.

beijing

Chess playing daughter spotted that there was a rook missing from this £2,000 chess set:

chess

I think Quentin Blake has been spying on me while I do my Insanity Max DVD in the mornings – some of the moves look a lot like this:

blake

After an hour, we were all pretty exhausted, so we went to Joy King Lau for a dim sum lunch.  Since reading this post last week, I have had an incessant craving for ho fun rice noodles (was practically doubled over with it last night!), which were well and truly satisfied today.

lunch

7 Comments

  1. Happy to hear you made it to Burlington House. I liked your selection of the paintings here – and thanks for the link back to mine. I did the Sonia Delaunay at the Tate this week but had no time left for the Martin. Another day, maybe although Tate Modern is my least favourite of the London Galleries – not for content of course, just the lack of facilities and those horrible escalators!

  2. Yay you got your noodles!
    I must say that I really like the colour of the walls behind some of the artwork. Heh.

  3. I’m not fussed with the Simon Cowell one either. We went into a cafe recently where they had lots of paintings of famous people just like that and there was one of Donald Trump. It made my coffee taste bad and I can’t go back to that cafe now.

  4. I am so rubbish at finding the right exhibitions to go to. This looks wonderful, but I never saw it when I was internet surfing back in May. Love your photos, especially the big blue acrylic.

    • If you ever go in a subsequent year let me know and I will see if I can come and have a coffee with you or something. 🙂

Leave a Reply

