comments 9

Review: Crimson Peak

I was planning on writing a review about how much I enjoyed Colm Toibin’s The Master, and then I went out to see Crimson Peak at the cinema.

It was billed as a ghost story after the tradition of The Woman in White, but what we got was a really over the top Downton Abbey (costumes, acting and sets) with added stabbings and CGI.

Never have I been in a film where audience reaction has been such an integral part of the experience eg “That was a bit unnecessary,” from behind me, as we cut from genteel waltzes to chunks being taken out of skulls.  But mainly a lot of laughter, and some synchronised “Oooh!”s at some really bizarre scenes, such as someone being stabbed in the face.  Why would you do that as a stabber?  Why would you do that as a film maker, knowing that everyone’s just going to say, “That was a bit… odd  Never seen that before.”

This guy from The Guardian gave the film 4/5 stars.  What was he on??  Probably the same thing that the commissioner for this film was on.  I want some of it.

10/10 for entertainment value though, I was still laughing as I walked up the road to catch my train, really needed that after a hard week at work!

9 Comments

    • Indeed, one of the Guardian comments describes this as a “very silly film”.
      My daughter sent me off with the brief of finding out whether this would be too scary, as she likes Tom Hiddleston too. I said it wouldn’t be too scary.

  1. I wasn’t planning to see this one cause I was afraid it would be something like what you’ve described. And it’s such a pity for they must have made some efforts and financial offers to assemble this wonderful cast. I think the critics praise it for its style and atmospheric effects (as its director is known for considering his past works). However, it’s not my cup of tea. (and that chowder is the best I’ve ever tasted. 🙂 )

  2. After the trailer, I was expected The Most Terrifying Film Ever. So I’m surprised/elated/confused that it seems to be some sort of Rocky Horror hamfest 🙂

    • On the plus side, it’s not that scary. On the minus side, I don’t think this movie will tick boxes for either of you!

  3. What a hoot! Sounds like something Daughter would love…the gory bits that is! Glad you had some good entertainment to unwind with, that can’t be bad 🙂

Leave a Reply

